Prestigious honour celebrates contribution of academics to UOW teaching, research and community

Five distinguished academics have been admitted as Emeritus Professors to the UOW Honours List, recognising their immense contribution to their field of expertise and mentoring the next generation of researchers.

During a small, COVID-safe conferral ceremony at UOW’s Innovation Campus yesterday (Wednesday 28 April), Senior Professor Julie Steele AM, Senior Professor Vera Mackie, Professor Wenche Ommundsen, Senior Professor David Griffith, and Professor Robin Warner were all designated Emeritus Professors.

Professor Paul Wellings CBE, UOW Vice-Chancellor, said the five recipients were giants of their respective fields of research and had made an immeasurable contribution to UOW’s research, teaching, and community.

“It is an honour to be able to recognise and celebrate the work of Julie, Vera, Robin, David, and Wenche,” Professor Wellings said.

“They are all world-class scholars and leaders in their fields, but they are also generous teachers who have been valuable mentors to emerging researchers and students. I extend my congratulations to UOW’s newest Emeritus Professors.”

An Emeritus Professorship is bestowed on retired professors who have made a remarkable contribution to the University community and to research or teaching.

For the full media article please click here.