On 12 June, Council approved the new faculty structures; the Faculty of the Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities (ASSH) and Business and Law (BAL), to take effect from 1 July 2020. The Faculties of Engineering and Information Sciences (EIS) and Science, Medicine and Health (SMAH) remain in place without change.

The schools comprising the current faculties of Business (BUS); Law, Humanities and the Arts (LHA); and Social Sciences (SOC) will be realigned to form the two new faculties: Business and Law (BAL) and the Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities (ASSH).

The new Faculty of the Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities, led by Professor Glenn Salkeld, will include the schools of the Arts, English and Media; Education; Geography and Sustainable Communities; Health and Society; Humanities and Social Inquiry; Liberal Arts; Psychology and Early Start.

The schools of Accounting, Economics and Finance; Law; Management, Operations and Marketing; the Sydney Business School; the Australian Health Services Research Institute (AHSRI); and the Australian National Centre for Ocean Resources & Security (ANCORS) will form the Faculty of Business and Law under the leadership of Professor Colin Picker.

Operational collaboration will continue to take place in the coming weeks to implement the change.