Three high-performing UOW students, including one of UOW’s Management Cadets, were recently awarded $25,000 worth of scholarships provided by Shellharbour City Council.

Hannah Schymitzek and Tea Rundback each received an Integrated Learning Scholarship valued at $10,000. Both Hannah and Tea are undertaking projects with Council, reviewing operational processes and developing tools for managers and supervisors.

Management Cadet Caitlin Vickers was the first ever recipient of the $5,000 Shellharbour City Council Community Scholarship, which recognises and rewards contributions to the local community. Caitlin received the scholarship for her strong community involvement, executed through her passions of education and gender equality with various programs and charities in the area.

Caitlin is a Bachelor of Communication and Media Studies student and a fourth year management cadet. Caitlin was thrilled to receive the inaugural scholarship and linked it to the advantages of UOW’s management cadet program.

“I am incredibly grateful to be part of a program that has invested so much time and energy into my professional and personal development. The cadetship has been a springboard for many great opportunities and has allowed me to apply the theoretical components of my degree into practical situations. The opportunity to work on some of the University’s most strategic projects has broadened my understanding of not only marketing, but business holistically. I have made lifelong friends being a cadet and together we have fostered a caring and supportive culture.”

The University of Wollongong’s Management Cadetship is a five year program, providing two young minds with the opportunity to combine work and study here. The program is designed to optimise a cadet’s employability, enabling them to graduate with a broad range of skills applicable to their degree, coupled with significant work experience.

More information about the UOW Management Cadetship Program can be found here.


Main photo, L – R: Shellharbour Mayor, Marianne Saliba; scholarship winner Caitlin Vickers; UOW Director of Advancement Monique Harper-Richardson and Senior Development Coordinator, Paul Deverell.