Three innovative community partners in collaboration with UOW academics have been named as the 2020 Community Engagement Grant Scheme (CEGS) recipients.

University staff and the local community partners came together for a virtual celebration last week to congratulate the recipients of the funding, including;

• The Illawarra Aboriginal Corporation and senior Aboriginal researcher and anthropologist, Professor Kathleen Clapham;
• The Illawarra Shoalhaven Local Health District (ISLHD) and Dr Katarzyna Olcon from the School of Health and Society and;
• The Advance Diversity Services (ADS) and Senior Lecturer in Sociology, Dr Quah Ee Ling Sharon from the School of Humanities and Social enquiry.

The CEGS projects are dedicated to serving communities on a range of real-world issues. Areas of focus include; health and wellbeing, disability and social services, culture and multiculturalism, Indigenous and local history and communities.

Since 2005, UOW has awarded more than $700,000 to 80 community projects, aimed at building capacity through educational, research or outreach activities with community partners.

For more information please click here.